About Council

Newcastle City Council was formed in April 1938 with the merger of Adamstown, Carrington, Hamilton, Lambton. Merewether, Newcastle, New Lambton, Stockton, Wallsend, Waratah and Wickham Councils.


Council is made up of a Lord Mayor and twelve Councillors

Strategic Advisory Committees

Strategic Advisory Committees provide strategic advice and guidance for Council.

Council Meetings

Council meets regularly on a Tuesday night from 5.30pm with most meetings being open to the public.

Council Elections

Council elections were held in 2012 - the current term is for four years - next elections will be held in 2016.

Our Organisation

Newcastle City Council was formed in April 1938. Council is responsible for looking after public facilities and providing over 70 community services.


Explore the exciting and challenging career opportunities that exist within our organisation.

Ward Maps

Newcastle Local Government Area is divided into four wards. Find out which ward you live in.