Audit Committee

The objective of the Audit Committee is to provide independent assurance and assistance to Council on risk management, control, governance, and legal and regulatory obligations.

Audit Committee provides a reporting forum for internal and external auditors.
The Committee cannot make decisions on behalf of Council and may not direct any Council officer in his or her duties.


The Audit Committee meets at least four times per year. Audit Committee business is confidential and meetings are closed to the general public.


Audit Committee responsibilities are contained in the Audit Committee Charter, adopted by Council on 25 November 2014.

Audit Committee Charter (PDF)


Councillor members of the Audit Committee are:

  • Cr Jason Dunn
  • Cr Sharon Waterhouse

Independent members of the Audit Committee are:

  • Dr Col Gellatly (Chair)
  • Martin Matthews
  • Micah Jenkins

Annual Reports to Council

The Audit Committee submits an annual report to Council on its affairs and the management of risk and internal controls.