Freeman of the City Recipients

The honour of Freeman of the City is awarded to individuals who have provided the highest level of service.

It may be awarded for achievement and service to Newcastle, Australia or humanity. The award dates back to ancient times, when an exceptional person was recognised and given privileges that extended beyond the law. That is, they were given the 'run of the City' and hero status.

Freeman of the City recipients

Frank Purdue: Former Lord Mayor

Charlie Jones: Former Lord Mayor, Federal Minister for Transport and Minister for Aviation

Joy Cummings: Former Lord Mayor

Arthur Wade: Former Deputy Lord Mayor, State Member for Newcastle 

Vic Bell: Former Deputy Lord Mayor

Anne Von Bertouch: Arts patron and first non politician

Joyce Bond: Heritage and community activist

Doug Lithgow: Community and environmental activist

Dr William Bowmore: Patron of the Arts

John McNaughton and Margaret McNaughton: Former Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress as well as community advocates and ambassdors for Newcastle.