Complying Development Certificate -SEPP Three Ports Checklist

All development applications and the majority of post consent certificates must be submitted through the NSW Planning Portal. Find out more on our Lodging an Application information page.

The State Environmental Planning Policy (Three Ports ) enables certain complying development within a designated area within the Port of Newcastle.

This document consists of 2 parts:

  • Part One:A submission checklist for a Complying Development Application under the SEPP (Three Ports) that must be completed and returned to the City of nNewcastle, with the application.
  • Part Two: Contains additional information about the standard of application and information to assist in the preparation of an application.

The Department of Planning and Environment exhibited the translation of existing Business and Industrial zones into the new Employment zones from 31 May to 12 July 2022. To view the detail please visit the Department’s Planning Portal.​ Employment zones will be in place within individual LEPs by 1 December 2022 when the existing Business and Industrial zones will be repealed. Further information is available on the Department's website.

As of 1 December 2021, a reference to an Environment Protection zone E1, E2, E3 or E4 in a document should be taken to be a reference to a Conservation zone C1, C2, C3 or C4. For further information please see, Standard Instrument (Local Environmental Plans) Amendment (Land Use Zones) Order 2021.

Additional information and a 'Frequently Asked Questions' Fact Sheet is available on the NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment website.