## ITEM-3 LMM 22/02/2022 - CEREMONIAL WELCOMING OF NEW & RETURNING COUNCILLORS

## MOTION

## That City of Newcastle:

- 1. Welcomes new and returning Councillors to the historic Newcastle City Hall Chamber for the Ceremonial first face-to-face Ordinary Council Meeting of the new Council term;
- **2.** Notes that election for this new term of Council was held on 4 December 2021, with the following results declared by the NSW Electoral Commission:
  - Lord Mayor Nuatali Nelmes (Labor) declared elected as Lord Mayor on 21 December 2021.
  - Ward 1: The following candidates were declared elected on 23 December 2021:
    - i. Declan Clausen (Labor)
    - ii. John Church (Ind)
    - iii. John Mackenzie (Green)
  - Ward 2: The following candidates were declared elected on 23 December 2021:
    - i. Carol Duncan (Labor)
    - ii. Jenny Barrie (Liberal)
    - iii. Charlotte McCabe (Green)
  - Ward 3: The following candidates were declared elected on 23 December 2021:
    - i. Peta Winney-Baartz (Labor)
    - ii. Katrina Wark (Liberal)
    - iii. Margaret Wood (Labor)
  - Ward 4: The following candidates were declared elected on 23 December 2021:
    - i. Deahnna Richardson (Labor)
    - ii. Elizabeth Adamczyk (Labor)
    - iii. Callum PULL (Liberal)
- **3.** Congratulates all successful candidates and welcomes them to the Chamber as City of Newcastle Councillors for our Ceremonial Meeting at City Hall;
- **4.** Welcomes the following first term Councillors and extends an opportunity to them to address the Chamber upon their election to City of Newcastle Council:
  - Cr Dr Elizabeth Adamczyk
  - o Cr Deahnna Richardson
  - Cr Margaret Wood
  - Cr Jenny Barrie
  - Cr Charlotte McCabe
  - Cr Katrina Wark
  - Cr Callum Pull