City of Newcastle welcomes disaster relief for local community

08 Jul 2022

Newcastle residents affected by the severe weather event that began on 27 June will now be able to access government-funded disaster relief payments.

Newcastle was one of eight additional local government areas (LGAs) added to the list of declared disaster zones today as impacts from the widespread rain and flooding continue to be felt across large areas of New South Wales.

Assistance was also extended to Muswellbrook and Port Stephens as well as Cumberland, Mid Coast, Nambucca, Randwick and Warren, bringing the total number of disaster-declared LGAs to 37.

Newcastle Lord Mayor Nuatali Nelmes welcomed the news, saying it would provide much-needed funding and support to local residents affected by the recent storms.

"Like many areas across the state, Newcastle has been widely impacted by the recent severe weather event," Cr Nelmes said.

"Today's announcement to add Newcastle to the list of disaster-declared LGAs is much appreciated as it will enable affected communities and individuals to access the range of special assistance measures needed to help them recover from the latest weather event.

“I appreciate the fast response and support from the Deputy Premier Paul Toole on this declaration after meeting with him and other local Greater Newcastle and Hunter Mayors this morning.”

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements and includes helps for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged, as well as concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations.

Support is also available for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential roads and public assets.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the National Recovery and Resilience Agency’s website at