Nominate those who have gone above and beyond for 2021 Australia Day Awards

31 Oct 2020

Nominations are now open for the City of Newcastle’s 2021 Australia Day Awards after a challenging year in 2020 that has demonstrated the strength and resilience of our community.

The Awards will recognise the outstanding contributions of individuals and groups to community life over the past 12 months.

Nominations are being called for in the Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and Community Group of the Year categories, with successful award recipients announced on Australia Day, 26 January 2021.

Lord Mayor Nuatali Nelmes said Novocastrians had shown incredible resilience in navigating the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic and looking out for their fellow community members through this difficult time.

“We have all felt these impacts to some degree, with most of us having to lean on our support networks to get through tough times,” the Lord Mayor said.

“Now is the time to consider those who have gone above and beyond for our community, be it a neighbour, colleague, or local community group that assists those in need.

“The Australia Day Awards recognise the quiet achievers as well as those more familiar high-profile achievers. What they have in common is their ability to inspire others, overcome challenges and make a significant impact on the people of Newcastle.”

City of Newcastle’s 2020 Citizen of the Year, Michelle Faithfull, was honoured in January as a passionate fundraiser, raising $180,000 for local charities including the Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service, Hunter Breast Cancer Foundation and Ronald McDonald House. She joins award alumni, ovarian cancer awareness campaigner, the late Jill Emberson, and Mark Hughes Foundation co-founder Mark Hughes.

The Hunter Homeless Connect Day coordinator said, while it had been no ordinary year, the Australia Day Award honour had boosted her calling to help others.

“I am passionate about giving back to the community after all the support I have received in turn; we Novocastrians are a caring bunch,” Ms Faithfull said.

“There are so many others doing great work in our wonderful community whose efforts deserve to be recognised.”

2020 Australia Day Award recipients Newcastle Pride (Community Group of the Year), Michelle Faithfull (Citizen of the Year) and Alexa Stuart (Young Citizen of the Year) with Lord Mayor Nuatali Nelmes and Councillors Peta Winney-Baartz and John Church at January's award ceremony.

Nominees must reside in the Newcastle Local Government Area. Young Citizen of the Year nominees must be 30 years old or younger on 26 January 2021.

Nominations close 5pm Sunday 6 December 2020 and can be submitted via the website or hard copy form downloaded from the same location and available at the City Administration Centre, Level 1, 12 Stewart Avenue, Newcastle West.