Working with our Stakeholders

We are committed to working with all stakeholders to determine a long-term strategy to manage the coastal erosion at Stockton Beach.

Stockton Community Liaison Group

Formed by the Lord Mayor in February 2018, the Stockton Community Liaison Group includes members of the Stockton community, government agencies, community groups and the business community to discuss the action plan for addressing erosion at Stockton Beach.

Currently working to support the development of the Extended Stockton CMP, the Stockton Community Liaison Group plays an important role in helping us engage with our stakeholders by providing an information network into the Stockton community. This helps us to better understand the needs of the community, to share local information and to receive meaningful feedback.

The Stockton Community Liaison Group was also very involved in the development of the Stockton Coastal Management Program 2020 which was adopted by Council in June 2020 and endorsed for submission to the NSW Minister for Local Government for review and certification in August 2020 under the Coastal Management Act 2016.

Hear what members of the Stockton Community Liaison Group had to say about the process of developing the Stockton Coastal Management Program 2020.

Stockton Beach Taskforce

The Stockton Beach Taskforce, now chaired by Minister for the Hunter, the Hon. Yasmin Catley, was established to drive the implementation of the sustainable long-term solutions to the coastal erosion issues for Stockton Beach. Its focus is on sand sourcing options, actions to mitigate loss of amenity and seeking funding. The taskforce will play a key role in the successful implementation of the Stockton CMP 2020.

Alongside the Chair, members include Lord Mayor Nuatali Nelmes and representatives from the Worimi Aboriginal Land Council, Department of Regional NSW, Department of Planning and Environment, Port of Newcastle, NSW Coastal Council, and the Stockton Community Liaison Group.

For more information about the Taskforce, visit the NSW Government Department of Regional NSW.